Terry Goodkind's THE OMEN MACHINE August Teaser

Tuesday, July 26, 2011 - 09:05 am

Terry Goodkind's THE OMEN MACHINE August Teaser from Terry Goodkind on Vimeo.

Terry Goodkind on his new novel THE OMEN MACHINE

Wednesday, July 6, 2011 - 10:07 am

When I was young I read a book about space travelers from Earth who made a perilous journey across the galaxy and crashed on another planet. I don't remember the name of the planet, but let's call it Glox. On Glox, they encountered a group of Gloxiens who were fighting for survival. The Gloxiens thought that the Earthlings were their enemy, too, but the Earthlings
won them over and helped in their struggle for freedom and survival. While they won the struggle, the Earthlings realized that they would never be able to return home. They would have to stay to live out their lives on Glox.

I loved the story and the characters. I got the next Glox book from the same
author. I couldn't wait to go back to Glox and read about my friends. As
I started reading, I discovered that it is now 300 years later and all the
people I loved were long gone and long forgotten.

I was outraged. I felt cheated. I hated the book without even reading
it. I wanted to read about my friends on Glox, not future generations. The
author made the huge mistake of thinking that I wanted to read about
Glox. I didn't care about Glox, I cared about my friends there. I never
finished reading the book.

That experience helped shape my storytelling. It is the reason that
every one of my books about Richard and Kahlan starts immediately, if not
within hours, certainly within a day or two, of the previous book. I want
readers to be there for the whole story. We love these characters and
want to travel with them. We don't want to return to this world centuries
later, or generations later, or even when our beloved characters are old and their lives are close to ended. We want to live those lives with them. It is not the world we want to return to. We want to return to our friends.

The struggle that was the Sword of Truth series concluded with a wedding. But that is a mere fragment of the lives of these people. Readers want to know what happens next to these characters. I want to know. I don't want to return decades later and be told what happened, I want to be there. Readers want to
be there. That's why THE OMEN MACHINE starts the morning after that wedding that ended CONFESSOR.

The Sword of Truth series was a story in and of itself. It spanned a dozen books. That story, that conflict, ended. But that does not mean that the lives
of the characters ended. When you graduated High School that was
certainly the climax of a chapter in your life, but that was not the end
of your story. Great things lay ahead and you went on to live those trials,
challenges, and triumphs. It's the same with Richard and Kahlan and
all the rest of my characters. Their story goes on. There are people in
their world who would very much like to destroy them, or worse. Evil will
always exist, as will the struggle to overcome it.

The last thing I would ever do to readers would be to leave them out
of experiencing that story. I want them to be there with their friends,
traveling the road with them, facing the challenges and the terrors,
fighting the fights, sharing their tears, cheering their victories.

You may not know, yet, exactly where the road will lead and what dark
dangers lay ahead, but there is one thing you can be sure of — you will
be there for every step of the journey. So come walk that road with me and
discover what lies ahead. I wouldn't let you miss one bit of the lives of our friends.

The Omen Machine (Audio Excerpt)

Tuesday, July 5, 2011 - 04:06 pm

The Omen Machine (Read by Sam Tsoutsouvas)

Download File


Tuesday, November 16, 2010 - 08:17 am

"At long last, over the next few months, every single book from THE SWORD OF TRUTH series will finally be released in electronic format (Kindle, iBook, Nook, etc)."


Legend of the Seeker: The Complete Second Season DVD

Monday, September 27, 2010 - 10:17 am

Legend of the Seeker: The Complete Second Season

DVD Release Date: September 28, 2010

Television's epic fantasy, LEGEND OF THE SEEKER, returns for a spellbinding second and final season. Relive every exciting moment -- uninterrupted -- in this sensational 5-disc set, complete with exclusive bonus features. The ultimate battle between good and evil reaches new heights as a tear in the Veil separating the world of the living from the Underworld unleashes the most powerful forces the world has ever known. Only the mythical Stone of Tears can seal the cracks forming across the globe, and only The Seeker, with the help of Kahlan, Zedd and a fiery Mord'Sith named Cara, can find the stone and close the rift once and for all. Journey to a thrilling world of mystery and mysticism with all 22 episodes of LEGEND OF THE SEEKER: THE COMPLETE SECOND AND FINAL SEASON, and delve even deeper with never-before-seen bonus features -- available only on DVD.

Bonus features include:

"REDEMPTION OF A MORD'SITH: MEET CARA" - Join series newcomer Tabrett Bethell on set of SEASON 2's Legend Of The Seeker as the fearless Mord'Sith, Cara. Bethell's transformation into this feisty, quick-thinking warrior is instantaneous and seamless, as the actress dons the red leather outfit that immediately identifies her as a Mord'Sith, adapts to her character's sexual whims, and battles Cara's former allies with kicks, blows and the deadly Agiels – the Mord'Sith's weapon of choice. Witness the entire creative transformation—from script read-through to dressing room to screen.

"UNDER THE UNDERWORLD" - One of the most fascinating aspects of the Legend of the Seeker is author Terry Goodkind's depiction of the afterlife, a complicated and layered Underworld where spirits of the living reside. Discover the differences between the Underworld of the book and the series. Find out how artists and designers constructed the physical Underworld, and learn about the techniques that were employed to convey dark tones of anger and agony through makeup and set design.

The Story Of Panis from episode #201 – "Marked"
The Mother Confessor's Return from episode #211 – "Torn"
Who's Got First Watch? from episode #214 – "Bound"
Walter's Transformation from episode #218 – "Walter"
What Could Have Been from episode #222 – "Tears"
The Importance Of Death from episode #222 – "Tears"